Gear in Review…Vol. 1

We at Post World Patriot are constantly trying out new stuff, not only for our own convenience, but also for the benefit of you, the people. (It makes it way easier to gut my want list if I say it that way) I accept the word of someone who I trust WAY more than someone who posts fake review’s online. Nothing pisses me off more than a review online that says “Good product, fast shipping, would buy this again” then as you read through the 1,391 other reviews you realize that 85% of the reviews say the exact same thing. Why leave a review if you can’t be honest? So I am going to give you my personal review of products that I have purchased with my own money, that relate to our lifestyle, and The Post World Patriot way. Without further adieu…

blackhawk-serpa-cqc-concealment-holster-matte_26-4705_b

1: Blackhawk Serpa holsters: I, as a child (yes I was allowed to carry a pistol when I was under the age of 21) I always carried in an Uncle Mike’s because that’s what my Dad used,  you remember them, nylon construction with a big old snap on the outside, nothing ever fit your pistol perfectly, but they did work, and they would hold your pistol on your belt. It was a long time coming before I purchased a Blackhawk Serpa holster. Working in a firearms store, I had literally sold hundred of these holsters before I purchased one myself (talk about being hypocritical) But Now after having one for a few years, I am never going back. When I am in the woods, there is no telling what is going to happen, it may be a 20 miles hike up and down steep mountain trails, or a 45 Mph ATV ride through the rain back to camp. I know without a doubt that my serpa won’t let me down. With the patented Serpa Auto-loc technology you can rest safe knowing that your pistol cannot be cleared of the holster until you press the release (that, as a side note, also forces you to index your finger outside the trigger guard… Where your finger should be ANYWAYS) For the money, the Serpa holster is hard to beat, plus it is available with a belt and a paddle holster option.

blackhawk-cqb-riggers-belt-800-2

2: Blackhawk CQB/Rigger’s Belt: No, I’m not some kind of Blackhawk fanboy, but I do have a lot of respect for Blackhawk products. These belt are rated to 7,000 pounds of tensile strength. (if you look around online you can actually find videos where they are using these belts as a choker on some huge trees, and where they have pulled vehicles out with them) It even has an emergency belay clip that can be called into action with just a tug of the velcro. The belts show up pretty stiff, and you probably have a weeks worth of break in to where they are truly comfortable. After that point they are great, and work fantastically as an everyday work belt, as well as a pistol belt. They don’t have belt holes, so they work great for people who are in between belt sizes also. In most reviews online people ask if this belt works with pants? Mine has worked awesome with pants, and its so tacti-cool I even wear it without pants (the velcro does wonders for holding up your underoos 😉 ) But in all seriousness, this is really a quality belt, they come in 4 colors, and retail for somewhere around $40 (I found mine on amazon for $17 and shipping, because it wasn’t the most popular color) The buckle system take’s a little getting use to,  (if your lactose intolerant and going to cold stone to see how well your new meds work, you may be in for a word of hurt with this belt, it takes some time to learn to get it undone quickly!) but nothing that cant be figured out in a days time of playing with it. I wear this belt daily and I would highly recommend the Blackhawk CQB/Rigger’s belt.

bbb9d7af290d82a5ddbb5c86483af54d

3: Stormy Kromer Caps: I bought my first Story Kromer cap 2 years ago, they are not super cheap (most run about $45) But they are awesome. I’ll paraphrase as best I can the story of Stormy Kromer. George “Stormy” Kromer was a semi-pro baseball player who fell in love with a women by the name of Ida. George wanted to marry Ida, but her father said he would not allow it unless George got a “real” job. George applied for a position on the railroad. He and Ida were married. After spending a considerable time on a locomotive, George had lost quite a few hats. In those days (1903) men usually wore fedoras (even in 1903, someone had the sense to realize that fedoras were douchey to say the least) and he asked his wife to modify a baseball cap that would work better for his job on the trains. He asked for a high-crowned, six panel hat, that was made out of a warmer material with a drop down panel that could cover the ears and also make the hat fit more snugly in windy conditions. The Stormy Kromer was born. By 1909 George and his wife Ida had already sold 1,200 caps to local railway workers.  Stormy Kromer hats are still made in the USA, and each one is individually serialized. Upon registering your hats serial number, the company will warranty you hat against everything (including loss or theft) for 3 years. After that, the Stormy Kromer company has a lifetime warranty on all of their hats. It it gets wet and rots out, the company will replace it for free. How many companies stand behind their products like that? For me, the product is well worth the $45 for such a finely made product, with such a great story.  Plus it’s made out of wool for God sake! Mine has lived through 2 years of elk hunt heat, and 2 years of frigid cold and snow in a layout blind. It still looks brand new, no matter how many times I try to destroy it.

havalon-piranta-edge-hunting-skinning-knife-6

4: Havalon Piranta-Edge:  I’ve bragged on this knife before, and I still love the hell out of it. They retail for around $45, and that includes a sheath, and 12 additional blades. These things are truly the light saber of the skinning world, and extreme care must be taken with them, there are no “little mistakes” with these scalpel blades (remember that movie “127 hours” where the hiker had the rock fall and pin his arm? The one where he had to cut his arm off? if he would have had one of these bad boys that movie would have been called “35 minutes”. 10 minutes to get up his courage, 30 seconds to cut off his arm, and 24 minutes and thirty seconds of admiring how clean the cut was). 100% I recommend this knife to anyone who heads into the woods in pursuit of game.

17x9-xd-series-spy-797-black-lt2657017-goodear-wrangler-duratrac

5: Goodyear Wrangler Duratrac Tires: I have never been in a position where I was able to put a really nice set of tires on one of my vehicles. Don’t get me wrong, I have bought new tires before, but they have always been a very budget friendly model that was usually built off of a highway/all season tread. After purchasing my F-350 I needed to get a set of tires that were better equipped for the activities that I like to participate in. The Duratrac’s are a great multi use tire for people who go outdoors in the northwest, They are an off-road tire that can perform in highway conditions, they are Canadian snow rated (For a Canadian commercial vehicle, they must use a tire that is indorsed with the small snowflake and mountain logo, declaring that they are “up to the standards of the Canadian government”) These tires have been absolutely great in all-weather conditions, and it is great to know that when you are driving through bumper deep snow headed to your favorite goose spot, that your tire won’t fail you. I purchased mine at Discount tire in Hayden Idaho, they treated me great and got me the best price, even beating the online tire dealers. I would definitely recommend these tires for your truck or suv.

rkys116_large

 

6: Rocky Silent Hunter Boots:  I bought these boots 15 months ago, and right out of the box they were probably the most comfortable boots that I had ever worn, each boot weighs just shy of 1.5 pounds, they have Vibram soles, are made out of rip stop material and leather, and they fit like a running shoe (say’s the fat guy) Right out of the gate I took them out on an early season horn hunt/bear bait adventure and totally fell in love with them. Being my first pair of Rocky’s I really didn’t know what to expect from them, but in all conditions they kicked ass. From hard rock faces to calf deep snow they worked perfectly. They are insulated with 400 grams of thinsulate, so warmth was just enough for a fairly active hunter. Flash forward to November of last year…

boots1

After around 150 miles of hiking and less than a years use, this is what the boots look like. Notice that the rip stop material RIPPED, not once but in 4 different places. Which means that these boots are now no longer waterproof either. To add insult to injury, the “protective toe cap” has become totally unconnected, and the sole is starting to de-laminate as you can see in the picture. Do I still wear these boots? Sure, I paid good money for them, now im just limited to wearing them when it’s not going to be wet… like during hunting season. They are still comfortable. But as for hunting boots I have learned my lesson, and I will be back to wearing leather boots again. I mean I have two pairs of Georgia’s with the younger pair being 15 years old and the older pair being just a shade over 20. (Yes I wore a size 13 shoes as a 13-year-old, you know what they say about guys with big feet… They have to wear big boots.) I guess there really is no such thing as a free lunch, and the weight of leather is sure worth the durability gained.

These are just a few of the products that we at PWP have been testing. If you guys like the product review stuff, drop us a comment and we will see what we can do about rounding up some more of them. Maybe we will even do a “shoot out” of sorts and try to compare some of our gear. If you guys have recommendations about great products, LEAVE A COMMENT! We want to know about all the great stuff you guys have, and why we absolutely need it. Until next week, take care and shoot straight!

Leave a Reply

