Politics, Euthanasia and Recycling…

Well, if all my other blogs lead you to believe that maybe I am half a bubble shy of level, a title like “Politics, Euthanasia and Recycling”  would surely finalize that idea… But hear me out on this one…

This week I had quite a few ideas about what I would like to write about, but due to time constraints, I have to be pretty selective and try to get to something that I hope you would like to read about, and at the same time keep it short enough to where if you are reading it on your smart phone, you don’t have to plug in before you attempt to navigate through my run-on-sentences and over-hyphenated neologism’s. (by the way that is a real word… of the $5 variety, and it will score you you 36 points on scrabble if you play your tiles right 😉 ) So I figured that I would make this pretty simple, I would talk about something going on in the world, something that’s going on in my neighborhood, and something going on in my life.

//636084494812745963-2016-09-02-colin-kaepernick

Politics: Any one who has watched any amount of television, or has been on any form of media site , knows exactly who this is, and why he has been a major focus for the media. But just in case you don’t…His Name is Colin Kaepernick, and he is the  back-up quarterback for the San Francisco 49ers. He attended college in Nevada, where he was named Western athletic offensive player of the year as well as MVP of the 2008 humanitarian bowl before being drafted in the second round of the NFL draft. That seems like reason enough for him to be in the lime-light right? No Sir, you are mistaken. On August 26, 2016 in a preseason game against the Green Bay Packers, Kaepernick decided to make a political statement by refusing to stand for the singing of Our National Anthem and the raising of Our flag, stating “I am not going to stand up to show pride in a flag for a country that oppresses black people and people of color. To me, this is bigger than football and it would be selfish on my part to look the other way. There are bodies in the street and people getting paid leave and getting away with murder”, referencing a series of events that led to the “Black Lives Matter” movement. Well This is America, if you choose not to stand for the national Anthem, that’s on you man. Thank God for those brave men and women that gave there lives protecting and serving our beautiful country, They gave you that right. It’s The First Amendment for pete’s sake, and you have to right to exercise it. You want to know about oppression,  Go to a country like North Korea, or Saudi Arabia. You pull a move like “Not showing respect to ones flag and Country” the only thing you will have to worry about is how to stop the bleeding. People have, and will continue to be killed for less then that, daily. Thank your lucky stars that you were born in a Country that “ALLOWS” you to have an opinion. You know that I would rather trim my eye lashes with a weed-eater then talk about politics, but there is one thing that I stay away from even more then that… And its race. If Kaepernick wants to use his mediocre football career as a “soap box” to express his feelings about oppression and racism, Once again that is up to him, He has that right. But If you want to get down to the real nitty gritty of this whole black lives matter thing (If you want my full opinion click “here“) is racist. I believe that black lives matter, I also believe that red lives, yellow lives and white lives matter too. Life matters period. I think some people just Just have an inability to deal with not being the prize pig, Kaepernick will never be remembered for his 27/20 win/loss record. Now being a backup, maybe he is afraid that he will disappear all together. His football career may never make a true impact, but maybe he feels that his actions will?

whitetail-deer-management-harvest-rates-1209-01

Euthanasia: This was a rough week for the Willoughby clan, Well for My wife to be more precise. Walking out to my truck Monday morning I noticed a white tail doe laying in our front yard, as I walked closer she turned her head to look at me but she didn’t flee. Something was up, I looked at her rear legs and could see that she had been hit by a car. Being an avid hunter and outdoors-men, I hate to see things in pain or suffering, and I could tell that she was both. I looked down the road and saw a sheriff sitting at the corner in his Suv and figured that he had been called out to evaluate the deer, and displace her if necessary. That being said, I immediately text My wife and said “Hey there is a doe out in the front yard, she looks like she has been hit. There is a cop out there, so if you hear a shot, just know that it is a cop. Please don’t let the dogs out until the situation has been remedied, I don’t want to stress her out any more then she already is.” Later I got a reply to my text, that just said “can you talk?” I called her and she was in tears, she had walked outside to see where the doe was at, and found her piled up, but still alive-ish. I told her to call fish and game and see what they could do. Fish and game told her that if she was laying there she may still be ok, and that because she wasn’t already dead they really couldn’t do a whole lot about it. Hearing this story, I felt the need to make a call to fish and game myself. After explaining myself to the receptionist, she forwarded me up the chain of command “Well the Deer looks to have 2 broken legs, she is laying in my yard, we live in a neighborhood that is filled with dogs, if one of those dogs gets out of there fence, the doe has no chance and she will be torn to shreds. Plus there is a state aided day care across the road, I would really hate to have all those little kids spend there whole day watching an animal die in pain. I hunt, and I love animals but she is hurting pretty bad. If I lived out in the country I would have put a bullet in her this morning, and put her out of her misery”. That was all that he needed to hear, he said he would send a guy out and see what he could do. 15 minutes later, a fish and game officer come to my door and spoke with my wife, he said that in fact the deer had been struck 2 blocks away and had in fact broke both rear legs,he then asked her what she would like to do? Maybe I should have prefaced my story with this very important detail. My wife is an animal lover, and a… wait for it…. wait for it…  VEGETARIAN! (I know what your thinking, you are a hunter, and your wife is a salad eater how does that work? Well my deer meat just last longer then yours does 😉 ) In that the officer asked if she would like him to make the call? Less then a minute later, he had already been to his truck, grabbed a small caliber rifle, and put an end to the situation. He then came back to our porch and consoled my wife. “That deer was in bad shape, there was no choice. The neighbors down the road are going to keep the meat and nothing will go to waste. You did the right thing.”  Needless to say my wife still tears up a little bit when she thinks about it. When I got home, we talked about it, and it dawned on me. That was the truest form of mercy. She would never be able to kill that deer, but the fact that she could see the pain,and know what was right even through her personal feeling were telling her something totally different. I am very proud of her. Now I just have to work with her about telling the fish and game officer that we want the meat next time…

img_4104

Recycling: Yesterday, I did My part in figuring out how to reduce my carbon foot print and recycle… Pwp fired up the forge, and we built some cool blades. We will get some pictures up shortly. We are going to try to get in some kind of schedule  for when we will be banging metal. Maybe next time you could come join us, or send us some ideas for potential project. This time we used old rail road spikes and made hatchets and knives out of them. In my opinion, that is the best kind of recycling that can be done. Take something of very little value, and make something awesome using  only fire and sweat-equity. Plus everyone looks like a boss spraying carbon sparks all over and wielding a hammer like the Sons of Ivaldi.  Happy labor Day.

-Grant Willoughby 9/5/2016-

Leave a Reply

